Wednesday, 18 July 2012



Emily & Deanna had been members of Youth of Light Drama group for several years and always enjoyed singing. In March 2011 they had a rare opportunity to sing at a Variety Show and chose to sing Fergie’s “Big Girls Don’t Cry”. They enlisted the help of YOL’s guitarists Derrick Yapp & Ashley Howell to back them. They delivered a brilliant performance which led to other opportunities.

In June 2011 Emily & Deanna recorded video demos of Big Girls Don’t Cry and Christina Aguilera’s “Reflection” with Derrick and Ashley providing the music. The videos helped to get them booked at another Variety Show. They played 2 consecutive dates performing Big Girls, Beyonce’s “Ave Maria” and they each performed solos with Deanna choosing “Man Who Can’t be Moved” (The Script) and Emily performing “Set Fire to the Rain” (Adele). For these performances, Jonny Poole (drums) and Laura Yapp (bass) joined the 2 guitarists.

In August Emily, Deanna, Laura, Ashley & Derrick performed the same songs plus “I’ll be There” (Jacksons) at the Holland on Sea Parish Fete – a slightly smaller event than V but still a gig!

Over the last few months Emily and Deanna have landed lead roles in a production of Sleeping Beauty and have been working together on “Promise This” (Cheryl Cole) ,“Nights in White Satin” (Moody Blues) and Disney’s “Once Upon a Dream”! Emily’s been singing “Bring Me to Life” (Evanescence), Fire Flies (Owl City), Disney’s “The Glow” and “Can’t Help Falling in Love with You” (Elvis). Deanna’s been singing “Yellow” (Coldplay) and “Here Without You (3 Doors Down). The video of “Promise This” was made in November just before Deanna had her tonsils taken out.

As soon as Deanna was able to sing again, the girls decided that they wanted to pursue their musical ambitions and came up with the name IceChrystalls. They chose a bunch of songs they wanted to learn and made some more video recordings including “Untouched” (The Veronicas), “A Thousand Years” (Christina Perry), Can’t Help Falling in Love with You, The Man Who Can’t be Moved and “Valerie” (Amy Winehouse/Zutons). Deanna also recorded Yellow, “Broken” (Seether & Amy Lee) and “I Write Sins not Tragedies” (Panic! At the Disco). Emily recorded “Skyscraper” (Demi Lovato). Derrick & Laura provide backing on guitar and bass.

IceChrystalls are hoping to get these recordings onto YouTube, Reverbnation and Facebook very soon.
The three persormance Sleeping Beauty Panto took place on 21st & 22nd Jan 2012. Emily wasSleeping Beauty and Deanna was the Prince. Derrick, Laura, Ashley, Jonny, Kate Kavanagh (flute & sax) and Will Smith-Daye (Keyboards) provided the music.

Since then IceChrystalls recorded more songs for their Youtube chanel including Nights in White Satin, Lego House (Ed Sheeran), Everybody's Fool & My Immortal (both by Evanescence) and remixes of Untouched and Promise This (acapella and with guitar). 11 videos are on the Youtube chanel now with 4 or 5 still to be uploaded.


Artikel Terkait


Post a Comment

Cancel Reply